Vegan and Gluten Free

Nataly Shemesh

Nataly Shemesh

Registered Dietitian
gluten free dinner

What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein that is found in grains such as wheat, barley, and rye. It’s found in most types of bread, cereals, pasta, and many processed foods. It is also the main ingredient of seitan, which makes up a lot of the mock meats on the market.

People who have celiac disease develop an immune reaction to gluten that damages the intestine, so they need to avoid gluten. For most other people, there is no real need to avoid gluten.

Can I be a gluten-free vegan?
Yes, you can! You can enjoy foods from all the vegan food groups. Just make sure to choose gluten-free grains and packaged products that are labeled gluten-free, and avoid seitan and mock meats that contain wheat protein..

The gluten-free vegan food groups are:

  • Protein-packed foods: legumes (beans, peas, chickpeas, fava beans, lupin beans, lentils), soy and soy products (tofu, edamame, tempeh, TVP, soy milk), quinoa.
  • Gluten-free grains: teff, rice, buckwheat, corn, gluten-free oats, amaranth, gluten-free bread, crackers, and cereals. 
  • Fruit and vegetables.
  • Nuts, seeds, and nut and seed butters (such as peanut butter and tahini).

More like this:

Aquafaba

Your Guide to Aquafaba

Did you know that every can of chickpeas comes with an amazing little gift called aquafaba? That’s right, the magic juice obtained from cooking garbanzo beans has a fancy Latin name and multiple uses in a vegan kitchen!

Lentil dish

The Abundant Vegan Diet

Many people go into veganism worried about all the things they’ll be giving up. But a vegan diet can be the most varied, abundant diet you’ve ever had, with none of your old favorite foods missing.

Cooking vegan food

Where to Find Vegan Recipes

So you’re new to vegan cooking. Or maybe even just new to cooking and don’t know where to start? Don’t worry – we got you!