Does a Vegan Diet Require Supplements?

Nataly Shemesh

Nataly Shemesh

Registered Dietitian
Walnuts, carrots, raspberries, tomatoes and leaves

The only supplement every vegan needs to take is vitamin B12. If you have a balanced vegan diet consisting of legumes, grains, vegetables, fruits, nuts, and seeds in suitable amounts, you should get all the nutrients you need.

  • Iron, calcium, and zinc: you can get all these minerals from legumes (especially after soaking or sprouting), whole grains, green vegetables, fortified foods, nuts, and seeds. As vitamin C increases iron absorption, it’s best to add a good source to your meals, such as fresh salad, tomatoes, or bell peppers.
  • Iodine: you can get iodine from iodized salt and sea vegetables.
  • Omega 3: you can get omega 3 (alpha-linolenic acid) from flaxseed, chia seeds, hemp, canola oil, and walnuts.
  • Vitamin D: our diet has little to do with vitamin D levels, as its main source is endogenic production after exposure to sunlight. In cases of deficiency, a supplement is the best solution. Most supplements contain cholecalciferol – vitamin D3 from an animal source, but you can get vegan supplements based on D2 (ergocalciferol) and D3 from lichen.

It should be noted that in cases of existing deficiency, pregnancy, lactating, infants under one year old, or individuals with specific medical conditions which require supplementation (regardless of being vegan), you should consult with a physician or dietitian.

More like this:

Plant Based Health Professionals

Plant Based Dietitians and Health Professionals

Sometimes there is a need to consult a vegan-friendly dietitian in your area. How do you find them?

Tempeh

Unusual Vegan Foods

You’ve probably come across vegan burgers, hotdogs, cheese, even bacon, by now. But what about some of the stranger and more wondrous things that vegans are known for?!

Aquafaba

Your Guide to Aquafaba

Did you know that every can of chickpeas comes with an amazing little gift called aquafaba? That’s right, the magic juice obtained from cooking garbanzo beans has a fancy Latin name and multiple uses in a vegan kitchen!